+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default How to create a three side based pyramid as a solid?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey there,

    i want to create a pyramid with a base of three sides with different lenght. In the end i want to have a solid where i can drag and move the notes to change the hight,lenght and the angle of the sides.

    I already managed to draw it in 3d but now i want to convert the drawing into a solid and keep it flexible to change the parameters by draging the notes.

    I also tried to extrude a triangle with a specific angle but then i was only able to move the top note up and down changes the hight. Doing it this way the top note also kept beeing in the center-point of the triangle.

    Do you know how to do this?
    Please help!

    Thank you in advance,
    canarinho

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    I believe that you will want to make a dynamic block. You will need to define a number of different dynamic parameters to cover all of your node options. There is probably an easier way to do it, but I don't know what that would be. Likely involve lisp.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Loft base to point.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    Loft base to point.
    I don't have much occasion to use loft when I'm modeling, but that to point option is pretty sweet. But I think the OP is hoping to have stretchable vertex grips?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    I don't have much occasion to use loft when I'm modeling, but that to point option is pretty sweet. But I think the OP is hoping to have stretchable vertex grips?
    That is what he should be getting with Loft to a Point. Dynamic blocks do not work in 3D.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    The "loft to point" funktion worked pretty well!
    Now i can move the notes around like i want to.

    Problem solved!

    Thank you all for the quick response!

  7. #7
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    I guess you figured out how to Ctrl select nodes, edges or faces.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Now I did. Thanks again

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2011, 05:33 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2010, 07:20 pm
  3. Create Point Using Side Shot
    By JeStoneIV in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Jan 2010, 07:52 pm
  4. How do i create an app online CAD based???
    By lua_roxita in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2006, 09:43 am
  5. pyramid
    By calcador in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 05:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts