+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    16

    Default "The constraint cannot be applied. The two objects must reside in the same plane"

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi there,
    When adding constrains in dynamic block I do get error: "The constraint cannot be applied. The two objects must reside in the same plane".
    How could I get both of the objects on the same plane? Don't have a lot of experience whit AutoCad 3d though...

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    I think the solution to your problem might be burried in here somewhere
    http://au.autodesk.com/?nd=class&session_id=9238
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Although some 3D is possible, Dynamic Blocks are currently only supposed to be 2D, so all of your block objects are probably supposed to be on the same plane anyway. The easiest way to find objects that are inadvertently located above or below the XY plane is to use the Viewcube to roll to FRONT, BACK or one of the side views. In many cases, you can just select the errant object and move it back to zero elevation (Z=0) in the Properties Palette.

    If you have any trouble, just post the drawing/block here.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2011, 05:40 am
  2. Still having trouble with the "Cut Plane"
    By Cad Monkey 2 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2011, 12:11 am
  3. Can I make "Select boundary objects" default hatch action? (2011)
    By bodejodel in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2010, 10:09 am
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 06:35 pm
  5. Making a "wall" constraint
    By WagglyFawn in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Apr 2008, 04:17 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts