+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: bak file

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default bak file

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i have some problem about BAK file. i accidentally change the program that open the bak file. then come a time that i need to use BAK file. i cannot rename it to .dwg the file will be XXX.dwg.bak. i had tried many ways to bring it back to unknown file just like before but none of them really work. please help anyone.. tanx. im using windows 7 & CAD2007

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    You don't need to set up a file type to open your .bak files. Just double click on the .bak file and select RENAME, then delete the bak and replace it with dwg, meaning that the file name ends with '.dwg' . Then when you click on it to open it, it should open with Autocad. If for some reason it is still trying to open with an inappropriate program, choose OPEN WITH and specify Autocad 2007.

    When you try to reformat the file type, you will be advised that it may make the file unopenable, ignore that and continue changing the .bak file type to .dwg and then you will be able to open it.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default reply

    like i said i had already accidentally change the program that open it. i dont remember how it happened. now i cant rename it anymore. whenever i tried the file just became XXX.dwg.bak.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    Can you post it?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default @gaddag

    Untitled.jpg

    see that the file name is "floor plan_1_1_8145 (.dwg" but the file is type is BAK. if i double click it AUTOCAD will open but with error or will stop responding. right now im reading some notes to help solve this problem. that i have search.. hope this one work. i have tried regedit but unluckily it didnt work. i'll post it anyway. thanks dadgad i appreciate your intention to help. god bless!!

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    Change your file view to DETAILS, and display the column TYPE (not really necessary, but may prove informative). Right click on the file icon, then select RENAME. I just renamed one to .bak and back again to .dwg. It shouldn't be a problem, and yes, I realize you agree with that last statement. Sounds like you are now trying to use the DRAWING RECOVERY MANAGER, which should be another viable option. Right click on the .bak file and OPEN. That or you could try the system save version, and open that one.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,434

    Default

    What program were using using, or attempting to use, to open BAK files in the first place?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Baia Mare, Romania
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Actually, you didn't change the extension from .bak to .dwg.... You just renamed file adding ".dwg" at the end.
    You must un-check option "Hide extensions for...
    folder options.jpg

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default your file extension (.bak .dwg etc.) is turned off

    The above worked perfectly. Wish I had scrolled down and seen the post before figuring it out on my own. If that post can be bumped to the top, it should be!

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,434

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    FYI - You basically repeated Stefan's suggestion, from two years ago, except he included an image.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Oct 2010, 10:10 pm
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2010, 05:48 pm
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2010, 01:31 pm
  4. Query on how to bring back the File browser or File Tree
    By CAnnondale in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 01:05 am
  5. Converting CAD file into powerpoint file like video file
    By rattaka in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2007, 05:46 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts