+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Data Extraction

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Data Extraction

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How Can I extract Northing, easting , elevation from an AutoCAD drawing inot excel

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    Are we dealing with plain text or attributes here?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Remark,

    Thanks for your reply, I just need a text file that has N,E,El. of every point in the drawing for example if I have a line i need the N,E,EI of the two points that line connect with

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    One method is to use the DATAEXTRACTION command.

    So these "points" are just that...points? They are not text objects or blocks with attributes?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I typed that command but did not get the result that I want, could you tell me how to proceed with this command to get my required result

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    I thought that AutoCAD 2009 had the Data Extraction wizard.

    On the Ribbon click on the Annotate tab > Tables panel, Extract Data icon.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    no It has but as I go through this command it does not ask me to get N,E,EL it gives me other thing not the things that I want

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    No, data extraction does not specifically provide you with the information in the form you are used to seeing it in.

    You never answered this: So these "points" are just that...points? They are not text objects or blocks with attributes?

    It might help if you post a copy of the actual DWG file so we can see exactly what we are dealing with. Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Data Extraction

    The drawing attached has 3D Polylines, I need to extract their N,E,El for every vertex
    Attached Files

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,304

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You could always use the LIST command then open the text window and do a copy paste. Not the quickest method in the world.

    Or you can try Lee Mac's Point Manager program. Find it here...http://www.lee-mac.com/ptmanager.html
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

Similar Threads

  1. Data extraction from viz 4
    By CHESTER007 in forum 3ds Max General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2011, 11:14 am
  2. Data extraction
    By nsaudrey in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2011, 03:35 pm
  3. Data Extraction
    By Target in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2010, 10:42 am
  4. Data Extraction
    By RyanAtNelco in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st May 2009, 08:16 am
  5. Data Extraction
    By Oasis in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2008, 04:37 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts