+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012

Default lines types, dimension styles etc.

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

In the last two days I have done 42 detail drawings for a customer of mine. The company I work as a lisp routine/program to bring line types and dimension styles into a new drawing. The program works pretty well. I don't know where they got it from. But the program was written for inches. The customer I have been working for the last few days wants all of his drawings in metric. I lost a few minutes in each drawing having to change the ltscale setting, and the dimension style properties in each drawing. How does everyone else start a new drawing and bring in the line types, dimension styles etc?

Computer Details
    rickh's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 x64
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    1G
    Discipline
    Structural
    rickh's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011

with a template (.dwt)

get one drawing exactly how you want it, then save as a .dwt. Then when you start a new drawing, use this as the starting template. Use File->New instead of Qnew so you can browse to the newly created template.

Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability

Quote Originally Posted by rickh View Post
    with a template (.dwt)

get one drawing exactly how you want it, then save as a .dwt. Then when you start a new drawing, use this as the starting template. Use File->New instead of Qnew so you can browse to the newly created template.
    rickh is right on the mark, and it is dead simple, so get used to doing it. In that way all of the text and dimension styles, layers, linetypes, table styles, the drawing sheet and just about anything else that you can think of (and are represented) in your drawing are saved into your new .DWT (template).