+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default Help... Convert 3d inventor assembly to 2d autocad dwg...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can we direct convert 3d inventor drawing to 2d autocad drawing but components in the drawing must be in the block condition? (For easy to modify)

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    I thought there already was a way to natively save a drawing from Inventor and open it in AutoCAD. I don't see that doing so in blocks would make it any easier to edit however.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    I don't know if or how Inventor can save a drawing to a DWG file format and at the same time keep certain portions of it as blocks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you... Nevermind... I also try many time already...

    Can't find the solution too


  5. #5
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,536

    Default

    You are asking your question in the wrong forum and it is a bit confusing what you want.

    First of all, in Inventor 3D is a model - part or assembly, *.ipt *.iam - not a drawing. 2D is drawing, *.idw or *.dwg (Inventor).

    You could simply save the Inventor solids as AutoCAD solids *.dwg and then use in AutoCAD as usual to create your 2D views.

    You could create and Inventor dwg 2d which does create the views as blocks. But I don't understand how that makes editing easier.

    There are several classes here http://au.autodesk.com
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you for explaination.

    So it is possible to create seperate block (by part) while converting 2D *.dwg (inventor) to *.dwg (autocad)?

    Autocad is the main software we using. So the machine draw using inventor need to convert to *.dwg(autocad) for modify (if needed).

    The machine is build by a lot of parts, so it's easy to modify if the parts is blocked seperately.

    Thank you.

  7. #7
    Super Member Pablo Ferral's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    638

    Default

    Here's a bit of info on using Inventor DWG's in AutoCAD:
    http://cadclues.blogspot.co.uk/2011/...etry-from.html

    I should point out though, that if you edit the Blocks in AutoCAD, as soon as you open the DWG file in Inventor it will overwrite any changes.

    If you explode the block in AutoCAD, then of course, any changes made to the Inventor file won't be reflected in the drawing...

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you. However, I want the assembly 3d models drawing (in three different view) *.dwg after convert to autocad *.dwg, all the parts will block separately (e.g frame, leg block separate). Is this possible?

    Thank you in advance.

Similar Threads

  1. Inventor Assembly
    By cadexplorer in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2012, 12:32 am
  2. Convert assembly file to surface model?
    By Trisha in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2012, 02:54 pm
  3. Assembly into another assembly in inventor
    By Irshaad in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2010, 08:26 pm
  4. Convert AutoCad to Inventor
    By PC Digital in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2007, 11:04 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts