+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    KoTa04's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    KoTa04's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Natural gas/hydrogen Piping HVAC
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario
    Posts
    32

    Default Automatic box trimming

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello Everyone,
    I'm quite new with autocad, and I'm trying to automate more of my work so I can finish it quicker. Any different suggestions would also be appreciated!

    Please see attached picture!
    I am currently recieving site dimensions for framing, my job is to reproduce (using isometric views) these framing dimensions in Autocad (framing is color coded white) and add metal panels (color coded blue), ultimately creating the panel dimensions to be sent to the panel manufacturer.

    Once I reproduce the framing dimensions I use a method of several offsets and construction lines to create my panels.

    My problem: each metal panel needs either 5/8" or 1/2" spacing. I am consuming a lot of time using the trim command and individually clicking out all the little squares. see picture. I like using QDIM quick dimensions to easily seperate spacing and panel dimensions, so trimming out the panels (as far as I know) is a must.

    Suggested solution: Is there a way I can tell autocad to cut out all 1/2"x1/2" or 5/8"x5/8" squares?

    As always, if you have different suggestions I am open to them.
    Thanks in advance for any replies!

    EDIT: I am using autocad 2011 LT, so I can't run script things..
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You're looking for some way to clean up all those intersecting lines?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    KoTa04's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    KoTa04's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Natural gas/hydrogen Piping HVAC
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario
    Posts
    32

    Default

    Yes, I just want the little 1/2" or 5/8" intersecting lines cut out.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Any reason why you did not create that pattern using an array?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    KoTa04's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    KoTa04's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Natural gas/hydrogen Piping HVAC
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario
    Posts
    32

    Default

    You're looking at the reflected soffit in that picture, so at max there's typically only 20 panels, an array could be a solution then. But panels also go on the exterior of the building. In that case, there could be as few as 4 panels. An array would only take much more time.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    KoTa04's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    KoTa04's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Natural gas/hydrogen Piping HVAC
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario
    Posts
    32

    Default

    In further reply to the array suggestion, here is a typical drivethru of a fast food restaurant. blue and green panels are shown here
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I cannot think of an easy way to trim up all those intersecting lines in LT. Requires further thought.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,044

    Default

    Perhaps a small pick box, nimble zooming in and out on the scroll wheel, and precise picking

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    I was going to suggest the judicious use of a wipeout as one possible kludge solution.

    How about a dynamic block of a panel?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can at least use the Fence option when trimming, saves you from picking every single line. Start trim, hit enter to select all, type F, enter, pick in between the line, move cursor to cross a bunch of line and pick again, repeat.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. Trimming
    By apowersite in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2011, 02:54 am
  2. Trimming
    By MisterJingles in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th Feb 2011, 05:36 pm
  3. Need some help with Trimming
    By didko in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2008, 09:22 am
  4. Need some help with Trimming
    By didko in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Aug 2008, 07:25 pm
  5. Trimming
    By jonjon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2006, 07:14 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts