+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member DODGE's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne The land of Oz.
    Posts
    462

    Default AutoCad and Revit Vs Chief Architect

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Guys
    Just got back from a mates office, Architects, and they have just started using Chief Architect, I must say it looks very good. They were using Revit for a short while but seemed to think the whole thing was too steep a learning curve.
    They reckoned they were up and running with Chief in around a month.
    As I am still agonizing over which way to go, I have also had a look at Archicad.
    I was wondering what thoughts you guys had, and if anybody here has had anything to do with Chief Architect and would like to share their experience.

    Cheers D

  2. #2
    Senior Member DODGE's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Melbourne The land of Oz.
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Does anybody know anything about Chief Architect?
    I would like a comparison between Revit and Archicad.
    Is there anyone that has used this program and maybe either Revit Or Archicad and can give me their views.
    Thamks Guys
    D

  3. #3
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,074

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes, Revit is over kill if all you are doing is residential and or light commercial. I have played with older version of CA and it is fine if you are doing cookie cutter houses and structures. I am not sure if current versions allow for more custom designs but it might. $2,400 CA is about half of a Revit Suite price so that might have played a role in their decision as well. I have seen some nice images produced with CA so it seems to be a usable application.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th May 2013, 10:59 am
  2. Import from Chief Architect
    By Alaskan Son in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2012, 06:52 pm
  3. Chief Architect
    By CAD Library in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2012, 10:17 pm
  4. Chief Architect or Acad2005 for home design?
    By covinataz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Jan 2005, 09:39 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts