3D lines to Surfaces?

north_of_55

Hello All,

First post here.

I am a project engineer at an underground mine. I regularely work with CMS (cavity Monitor Survey) data that is typically provided to me as a collection of triangular 3D faces that represent the interior surface of an open cavity within rock.

These files typically have 30,000 to 80,000 faces.

The last time I requested a survey the consultant indicated that their scanner was out of the country for repairs, but that they could generate a similar model by a different method.

What they did is shot many survey points then manually drew lines between them to give the outward appearance of the the normal deliverable. To the surveyors credit, he drew 3,800 lines to generate this wireframe.

My problem is that I normally have to slice the scans to provide planar outlines to our design engineers... and I can't slice lines.

Does anyone know of a way to generate these surfaces automatically? Is there a lisp out there for this? Essentially I would like to shrinkwrap it.

Working in AutoCAD 2000, but also have MicroStation V8 and MineCAD. MineCAD has a Tessellation function that is partially successful, but tends to join points together incorrectly and "fills" my cavity with random surfaces.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave

sample.dwg

I had been feeling down on myself for not being able to come up with a solution to my little problem.

After a day with no comments or suggestions I am not feeling so bad (unless people just feel this problem is beneath them and I really ought to know how to do this!).

One of my colleagues informed me that his brother had found a solution. I was a excited to hear it... but his solution was to manually draw the 3D-Faces. Not quite what I was looking for!

Oh well, maybe I'll try again another day.

Thanks for looking.

To be honest with you I have very little exposure to other/newer AutoDesk offerings. I don't know what capabilities the other applications have.