+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member The Nickster's Avatar
    Using
    Revit 2010
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    128

    Angry Auto Save Glitch AutoCAD 2012

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Has anyone ever noticed that the AutoSave feature will sometimes uncheck itself and most of the time not work correctly, i.e. if AutoCAD crashes it will not allow you to load the automatically saved file and you lose all of your work between each hard save? Is there a way to fix this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-4770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,908

    Default

    The Publish command is known to set SAVETIME (the sysvar that controls how often and/or IF, autosave fires) to 0 - which turns it off.

    But it could be something else too. Go here to find some lisp code that you can load, that will tell you when SAVETIME changes.
    At least this way, you'll know that it has changed and may be able to fix whatever is doing it.

    But more importantly, get into the habit of pressing Ctrl+S more often while you're working, and chances are you won't need your autosave files.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We have the same issue. Not sure if its the publish command or a combination of a few things. Have not been able to pin point the cause. I just save often and I have a button on my mouse set for the save command. I also check the auto save command a about once every couple days and reset it.

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad Mac Lt 2013 - Auto Save to 2010
    By boxel0 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2012, 12:23 pm
  2. Autocad 2012 takes ages to load(and save) dwg files
    By M76 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2011, 04:01 pm
  3. AutoCAD 2012 Block Editor Save Corruption Hot Fix
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 09:30 pm
  4. Auto Save or Make a pdf with AutoCAD 10?
    By muck in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2010, 07:14 pm
  5. Auto save!?
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2008, 01:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts