+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default Create a PDF from DWG file

    Hello everyone

    First off all, i am new with this forum, pdf and autocad. I have totally NO experience with autocad.

    A friend of mine (who works with autocad, but doesn't know much about computer), wants to create a PDF from his DWG files, so he can send his drawings to his costumers.

    I tried this in several ways, but it just doesnt seem to work. Adobe creates an pdf file, but all the lines are way too thick. Even text is too thick so that it becomes unreadable. See the picture below as an example:




    As you see, things become unreadeble and ugly.

    I have tried these ways:

    - Start adobe acrobat pro 6.0 and go to menu file > create pdf > from file, select the DWG file that i want to convert, and i get the pdf in the wrong wa
    - Start autocad (tried 2007, and 2000LT), open the DWG file, plot the file with the ADOBE pdf printer. I get a pdf file, but it is also wrong.
    - Tried a 3rd party PDF printer called PDF995 (it was recommended by a website i found on google), also the same (wrong) result.
    - Used the program AutoDWG DWG2PDF Converter. It is an trial version, and i dont want to pay for it, because adobe acrobat pro should make my pdf's!. This program does the job right, but with some files it starts complaining about missing fornt files (.ISO extention). However, the output file is right.

    So this means that i would have to pay to get my converted PDF, while adobe acrobat 6.0 pro should do it for me ( i bought the application for this one purpose, and it doesn't do its jobs right!).

    Does it have something to do with the settings in autocad? I had the tip on an other forum to press the LWT button in autocad, but it does not make any difference.

    Another problem is that AutoDWG DWG2PDF Converter does not take over the shadings that are in the drawing. So, if my uncle drwars a silo half full of product, he uses a yellow shading to mention the half-fullness.
    AutoDWG DWG2PDF Converter does not take this over!


    Please, someone help me with my problem!

  2. #2
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,684

    Default

    The LWT button only controls the display of lineweights on screen.

    Start by checking your lineweights. These could be controlled by layer.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  3. #3
    Senior Member Groutie's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Groutie's Computer Details
    CPU:
    i7 3.6 GHz
    RAM:
    32Gb
    Graphics:
    Quadro 4000 2Gb
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    127

    Default

    The best way to circulate drawings is to issue .dwf files. These can be read with a freebie viewer available on the Autodesk website. I issue both .pdf and .dwf files and believe me the .dwf's are MUCH better, for example,with colour matches, blue comes up purple when printed from .pdf's and blue (oddly enough) when printed from .dwf's. This features now got a beard on it and still people want .pdf's. Get a life guys IT'S FREE.......

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    how do you save .dwf file from autocadd? it's always .pdf when plotted from cadd....

    Quote Originally Posted by Groutie View Post
    The best way to circulate drawings is to issue .dwf files. These can be read with a freebie viewer available on the Autodesk website. I issue both .pdf and .dwf files and believe me the .dwf's are MUCH better, for example,with colour matches, blue comes up purple when printed from .pdf's and blue (oddly enough) when printed from .dwf's. This features now got a beard on it and still people want .pdf's. Get a life guys IT'S FREE.......

  5. #5
    Senior Member Attila The Gel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Attila The Gel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP SP3
    Computer:
    Toshiba laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...
    CPU:
    ...
    RAM:
    ...
    Graphics:
    ...
    Primary Storage:
    ...
    Monitor:
    ...
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by floradanica View Post
    how do you save .dwf file from autocrat? it's always .pdf when plotted from cadd....
    type publish in your command Line or click the button beside the plot preview.

    first select in the to DWF in the 'plot to' area

    from here on you see the layouts that are going to be plotted to .dwf.
    You can erase the ones you don't want to plot to be included in the .dwf.
    And if you like you can also include the model space!

    O and theres a 3D dwf to

    for more info push F1 after the publish command!

    ps: you sure found an old thread! :-)
    Last edited by Attila The Gel; 21st Jan 2009 at 09:32 am.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thank you so much, at least the lines are much controlled in the .dwf format

    lol, i was hesitant cause nobody might be reading these threads anymore. just gave it a shot
    this problem is really ticking me off i don't know how to control the unruly lineweights in pdf format.
    thanks again and cheers!

    Godbless and yup i think so.. we might be aliens =)

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,007

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Your line weights are coming from your plot style table. They should be consistent with the way your friend is plotting his drawings to paper. Something seems wrong here.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts