What is Visual Lisp / Auto Lisp ?

mailmaverick

Dear Friends,

I have been using AUTOCAD for 10 years and I have heard the terms Visual Lisp, Auto Lisp etc but never used them. I have some knowledge of VBA programming, particularly for use in Excel. I also know that when we enter VLIDE, we get a new window where we can write programs. My questions :-

1.) What is difference between Visual Lisp and Autolisp ? Which one do we use in VLIDE ?

2.) Which is better among two. In case I want to learn, which should I learn.

3.) I also heard somewhere that AutoDesk has discontinued use of Lisp in New versions and is promoting use of VBA, VC++, .NET. Is it true ? If yes, then where is the development environment for the same in AUTOCAD ?

Thanks.

I also want to know that when i use VBA in Excel, and I use any object, then Excel suggests its functions / properties which I can use. However, i have made one or two basic programs in VLIDE (actually I have copied them from forums for learning purpose !) but when I point my cursor to any object, it does not suggested me anything. Is there a way to get those suggestions ?

Thanks.

Visual LISP and AutoLISP well summarised here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AutoLISP They are now essentially the same.

AutoLISP is safe, AFAIK it will live on in new ACAD versions whereas VBA is being deprecated by M$SOFT aside from within MSOffice and may well vanish from AutoCAD. The "new thing" is to use .NET to build interprogram integration but it's amazing what can be done from VLISP with some extension libraries. There's plenty of information and help available on this board as well as at http://www.theswamp.org on the ins and outs of CAD programming.

Look through the AutoLISP Developer's Guide section of the AutoCAD Developer Help (type F1) for information on IDE editor aids such as text autocompletion. It ain't Excel's Intellisense, but in some ways it's less of an irritant. :) There's quite a good VLISP tutorial in there too.