Using a wildcard to get file path informatin.

Dustin11

I'm a little new to wildcards and don't fully understand how they work andwhen you can use them. Right now I'm trying to use them in code that wouldallow me to get some additional information about a file path I'm trying todefine. The code below is the one I'm working on that I'm having trouble with:

[font=Times New Roman][size=3](defun c:insdat (/ bti jobnumb firstnumb secondnumb chngnumb filepth)
 (vl-load-com)
 (command "-layer" "m" "G-PLAN-DATM-____-____-N" "lo" "G-PLAN-DATM-____-____-N" "")
 (initget 1)
 (setq jobnumb (getstring "\nEnter The 7 didgit Job Number:"))
 (setq jobnumblen (strlen jobnumb))
 (cond ((/= jobnumblen 7)
 (print "The Job Number Must Be Exactly 7 Digits Long! Try Again.")
        (exit)
        );cond
);cond
 (initget 1)
 (setq chngord (getstring "\nEnter Change Order Number:"))
 (setq chngordlen (strlen chngord))
 (setq firstnumb (substr jobnumb 1 3)
secondnumb (substr jobnumb 4 7)
filepth (strcat "J:\\" firstnumb "\\" secondnumb "\\" chngord "[url="file://\\prod\\Sheet"]\\prod\\Sheet[/url] Metal\\")
);setq
 (if (vl-file-directory-p filepth)
   (progn
     (setq dept "prod")
     );progn
   (progn
     (setq dept "4-Detailing")
     );progn
   );if
 (setq filepth (strcat "J:\\" firstnumb "\\" secondnumb "\\" chngord "\\" dept "[url="file://\\Sheet"]\\Sheet[/url] Metal\\"))[/size][/font]
[font=Times New Roman][size=3]  (if
   (setq bti
   (getfiled "Select Block to Insert" filepth "dwg" 0)
  );if
   (progn
     (command "._-Insert" bti "_S" 1.0 "0,0,0" 0.00 "" "")
     (while
(/= 0 (getvar "CMDACTIVE"))
(command pause)
);while
     );progn
   (princ "\nNo File picked.")
   );if
 (princ)
 (setvar "CLAYER" "0")
 );defun[/size][/font]