+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: Standard scale

  1. #51
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    JD - I am not a student. AutoCAD LT is no listed on my Windows Control Panel.

  2. #52
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default

    JD - As I wrote, I am not a Student, but I am a 79 year old Senior. That may be part of the problem.

  3. #53
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Walter, just as one last check before repair/reinstall, please verify that Properties manager does not display the objects properties in the Modelspace tab. If the problem persists on the Modelspace tab as well, then proceed with repair/reinstall. (Be sure you have the Serial number or product key you originally used to install with)

    You have two options to repair/reinstall:

    1) Put the AutoCAD 2006 CD in the drive, and the installer should launch and prompt you to Add/Remove Features, Repair/Reinstall, or Remove. You want to choose Repair/Reinstall, and then it should ask whether you want to Repair, or Reinstall. I would try Repair first.

    2) From the Windows(XP)* Start menu follow this progression: Start > Settings > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs > AutoCAD 2006 > Change (then refer to #1 above)

    * if using Windows7, replace "Add/Remove Programs with "Programs and Settings"

  4. #54
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    While waiting, here's a little trivia about the problem. A blank/non-functional properties palette is often caused by a registry cleaner removing entries from the Windows registry that AutoCAD needs to work correctly. Not just designated registry cleaners either, Norton Antivirus (among others) has been a known culprit, although I think antivirus is less of a problem now, compared to several years ago. Any of the many programs advertised to "speed up your PC" probably fall into the category of "registry cleaners"

  5. #55
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default

    JD, nestly and everyone else, thank you, the repair worked. I'm back in business. Thank you for going the extra mile with me.
    Walter

  6. #56
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Glad to hear it.

  7. #57
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    It sounds like you have a fairly common problem and need to repair or reinstall AutoCAD. I'm replying from my phone right now, but if you need help with that I'll be back in a little while
    That might explain why the drawing was boogered all up when I opened it but began to work properly after I got the properties manager to open. My registry was correct, but probably didn't match addresses in a dll somewhere, until the dll was changed. Once I saved, it worked thereafter.

    Back in the '90s I used to use a program called Norton Clean Sweep to keep my computer emptied out and running. Back then, in the days of the 365 meg memory and 100 meg disks, one had to do something, anything to keep the danged slow machines functioning at a non-exasperating level. Occasionally I would let it delete things I needed by accident. Then I would spend hours, even days retrieving "system" files I needed from other computers. Nowadays you can turn off services and applications one after the other, and create a custom boot profile. Then if you discover you have turned off something you need, just boot up using the original default boot.

    I don't let my OS or my virus software perform any sort of automatic Clean-up routines any more. At least not the ones I can find.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #58
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WalterCarlson View Post
    JD - As I wrote, I am not a Student, but I am a 79 year old Senior. That may be part of the problem.
    Hey, stop it. You're only a few years past me.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #59
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Glad to hear that everyone is in a good mood. I know I am... Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Standard scale of a viewport
    By dannywi77iams in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 16th Feb 2012, 01:13 pm
  2. Is There a Standard for Symbol Sizes that are Not to Scale?
    By David_Feynman in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2011, 01:23 am
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2010, 03:51 am
  4. Confused about "standard scale" and "custom scale" interaction.
    By tnb23 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 10:38 pm
  5. Standard drawing scale
    By heretic in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2006, 04:54 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts