viewport not visible or selectable

SPLEEF

Helping a colleague with CAD file from retired source. DWG has viewports on layout tabs, but the viewports are not visible. The viewport can be open, edited as established, but if you pan or zoom, the paperspace layout moves and not model space. In model space, viewport frame does not highlight.

All layers on, unfrozen, and plottable.

Have done extensive internet search to find soution, found others with same problem, have found no one with a solution.

Not extremely CAD literate, basically self taught, but until this problem, I've been knowledgeable and resourceful solving problems.

Any solutions out there?

The viewports wouldn't happen to be on layer defpoints would they? Is layer 0 on and thawed?

Could they be the same color as the background?

Can you select the viewport border with QSelect?

File originally generated with a viewport layer, and printer icon "x" out, but changing layer color, printer icon, achieved nothing.

EDIT: SLW types and thinks faster than me.

I suspect that the viewport frames may be on the defpoints layer and/or the layer is locked, or maybe it is the same color as the background, or it is precisely under the drawing border line, if there is one. Try changing the draworder of the border line, send it to the back to see if there is anything under it.

People have been known to use the viewport frame as part of the drawing border line as well, on the same layer as the title block, same color, same lineweight.

Some of us older draftsmen used to put things they didn't want plotted on the defpoints layer back in the day, because there was no other way to do it.

Try selecting everything in the area where part of the viewport frame should be with a crossing window, right to left, right click, select properties. Check the dropdown list of objects selected at the top of the properies box to see if viewport(s) is on the list. If so, pick it to see what is up with the thing.