+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default pline square ends

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    Using Autocad 2013, I have created a thick dashed polyline. Is there a command available that will square each dashed end rather then having the each end rounded?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    To assign a line end or line join style
    You change that property in your plotsyle.

    Here are the results of my F1 key (AutoCad help) search on Line end.

    Click Format Plot Style.

    At the command prompt, enter stylesmanager.

    Right-click a CTB or STB file. Click Open.

    In the Plot Style Table Editor, Table View tab, click the Line End Style or Line Join Style field for the plot style you want to change.

    Select an option from the drop-down list.

    Command entry: STYLESMANAGER

    However, using square ends may result in a little notch showing on the outside corners of the thickest lines. Try the mitered corners instead. Even these can cause an anomaly, ears on the outside corners that are more than 90 degrees.

    Lines only meet at the dead center point, so the thicker, heavier the lines the more obvious the end style is.

    Round end styles are the lesser of 3 or 4 evils.

    Who sees line end styles? If your lines are so heavy that the end styles are visible, then maybe they are too thick.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,040

    Default

    How have you made your thick polylines? - with width or by lineweight?
    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Yeah, then there's that ^^^^^^^^^^!
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks for the info.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default

    This seems to be the best solution, indeed! Use PLINEWID to set the width of new lines; or select an existing line and change the "global width" in PROPERTIES.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jornywar View Post
    This seems to be the best solution, indeed! Use PLINEWID to set the width of new lines; or select an existing line and change the "global width" in PROPERTIES.
    Plines with width exacerbate the square end issue, not correct it, and by the way, this thread died a sudden death three years and 3 months ago.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default a visual explanation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    Plines with width exacerbate the square end issue, not correct it, and by the way, this thread died a sudden death three years and 3 months ago.
    You know, Dana W, I did notice that this was an old thread, but it was one of the first that came up when searching for a solution, and it was the most helpful thread I found on the web to answer my question. No need to be rude about it to a newbie!

    Also, this image better explains what I'm talking about. Hope it's helpful to someone at some point.

    screenshot_170817.jpg

Similar Threads

  1. Lisp for getting Area into square meter and square millimeter
    By rengised in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2013, 06:46 pm
  2. pline, length of vertex distance from ends?
    By orange in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2010, 03:06 am
  3. Anything (BLOCK, LINE, PLINE, TEXT, MTEXT) Align to LINE, PLINE
    By cadamrao in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Jun 2010, 02:53 pm
  4. Tag Ends on a Polyline
    By JaketheMan in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Oct 2007, 08:42 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts