+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default How do I convert a 'dynamic' furniture block to standard object

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Once I have selected all my seating, dining and bed sizes and seat numbers dynamically from a block dropdown list, how do I convert them to standard drawing elements.

    When I go to export my floorplan to DWG/DXF for import into Illustrator I get all the different furniture objects all pile don top of each other. Such as a chair, loveseat, 3 cushion and 4 cushion all centered on top of each other.

    I would like to collapse all the 'smart', 'dynamic', 'parametric' elements out so I get what I am looking at, not all the hidden drawings that make up the dynamic selection.

    Would love to do this globally, or with selection set but can do individually if need be. Explode does not work (even with 'allow explode' on for the block) And going into block editor and changing visibility of all other unwanted blocks doesn't get rid of them either.

    Ron

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Welcome to the forum, Ron. When you say Explode does not work, do you mean you are unable to Explode the blocks, even with the explode option allowed? Something sounds amiss there.

    BTW, if you are able to upload the drawing with the blocks you are dealing with, that will likely be the easiest way to solve the problem for you.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default yes, that is what I mean

    I have attached 2 of the pieces. It says I cannot explode these. I am looking at the 'allow explode' checkbox when I hit 'B' command.

    I don't know if I necessarily need to explode them. What I need is for them not to export as all the block versions pile don top of each other.
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Open the Block in Block Editor and do not select anything, go to Properties and in section Block set Allow Exploding to Yes. Save the changes and explode the blocks when you have them set to where you want, you can explode again if you want or need to.

    See if this thread with some code for exploding blocks from Lee Mac helps. http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...654#post359654
    Attached Files
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. Keeping an object centered and stretched in dynamic block
    By artuiel in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2014, 05:41 pm
  2. change dynamic block into standard block
    By cadamrao in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th May 2010, 10:06 am
  3. dynamic blocks convert into standard blocks
    By cadamrao in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th May 2010, 03:41 pm
  4. Dynamic Block - changing object color
    By dvjstyles in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2009, 02:11 pm
  5. Convert Layers to Standard
    By Rhayes in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2007, 09:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts