Help with a Dynamic Louver

Sewell1977

Hello all,

I am fairly new to dynamic blocks, and have been given the task of creating or revising some of our most common pieces of hardware, one being a louver. I have created a stretch point horizontally, as well as vertically, but am having a tiny bit or trouble with the array. Would it be possible for someone to look at my attached .dwg and tell me what I am doing wrong?

What is happening is that I am getting an additional line at the top of the array that I do not want. Basically there is a frame around the louver, and then horizontal lines inside of the frame. When I stretch up, I am getting an extra line due to the array distance being 3/4", yet the frame being 1".

TESTLOUVERS.dwg

Any help would be much appreciated. :)

Thanks,

Jason

I took a look and fixed the block. I changed the line array to a line hatch, I put the origin point in the bottom corner. You could change the hatch scale if you want taller louvers.

TESTLOUVERS.dwg

Hope this is what you were looking for.

Oh ok, so by utilizing a hatch instead, the hatch will stay within the bounds regardless of size. I see, thank you for your help. :D

Yea the hatch in this case is a better more reliable option than using array. For the future though using arrays in dynamic blocks, I found that using two to start the array is better, then on the first one have a move point, so you can adjust as needed. I have an example of that here in this thread, the purple ladder looking block, CMU reinforcing.

Post #4

http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?87898-Masking-Parts-of-Blocks&p=603177&viewfull=1#post603177