Dimensioning for dummies (me)

PowerJunkie

I’m trying I swear I’m trying! I’m new with AutoCAD, my background is with Esprit, but that’s ok because the more I use AutoCAD the more I’m liking it :)

I’m just now dangerous enough to know how to draw some stuff, now need to dimension it out “accurately”. Accurately enough to send to a customer and I don’t need to be embarrassed by having anything wrong so I’m coming here for help once again!

Please have a look at the attached and give guidance PLEASE!

Thanks in advance!

G20-0050_JIM.dwg

You don't want to send that to anyone.

First of all, what are your desired units?

Your part is modeled if feet, yet it is very small (about 3 inches).

Why would you do that?

Your dimensions go to 4 decimal places (which is very expensive to manufacture), and the dimensions don't really make logical sense.

What dimensions do you really really really want?

There really isn't all that much to dimension. Basically you have three radii to call out and you should probably indicate an angle, which would be typical, between two of the lobes.

I would recommend drawing your object at full size in model space and then switch to a layout. Create a viewport in your layout, assign a scale to the viewport (dependent on the size of the sheet of paper you will be plotting to) then dimension and label everything in your layout.

The other option would be to label and dimension everything in model space.

BTW...I have a couple more suggestions.

Add some centerlines.

Set up separate layers for your geometry, dimensions, centerlines and text. Assign each a different layer color too.

G20-0050_ReMark.JPG

This is for demonstration purposes only. Your results may vary.

My object, centerlines and dimensions are all on separate layers.

I'd be interested in knowing what the actual size of this object is supposed to be. Currently it appears this object has a diameter slightly under 1/4".