+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member Behemothrex's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Behemothrex's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 64 bit
    Motherboard:
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. P8Z77-V PRO/THUNDERBOLT
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770K @ 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    Corsair Vengeance 32.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz
    Graphics:
    Dual SLI Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670's
    Primary Storage:
    OP system and Autocad only - Crucial 128GB SATA III SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital Black 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Monitor:
    LG W2353V 23"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    55

    Unhappy Color me Baffled

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey guys,

    Well when I get to the end of my rope I can always count on you guys to help me out. I am taking a 100 level cad class online and frankly the teacher is terrible, and I am not sure this is a 100 level project.

    So far we have read one chapter about orthographic projections did a crap ton of 3 view ortho drawings, by hand none the less and a few using CAD.

    Now this is dropped in my lap! And the main problem is I am having a hard time deciphering the dimensions. Like if you look at the top drawing, how do you get the length dimension for the bottom of the part, and what are the little V marks?

    I have completed about half of the front view, but without a length I am finding it hard to place the circle with the 2.75 radius on the right side.

    I mean I have taken 200 level classes and aced them but this guy doesn't give you anything to study, just here you go complete this drawing, and by the way do it backwards! Bah sorry just a bit frustrated.

    I know you are probably supposed to use the bottom view to find the length of the front view but for the life of me I just can't see it.

    Any suggestions would be helpful I am taking a break from this for a bit before I punch in my monitor!

    Thanks
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Super Member Commandobill's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    538

    Default

    I think I'm getting what you are looking for... Why wouldn't you just redraw what is already given to you? That would be the easiest way to get any dimension you wanted. See attached.

    BOTTOM DIMENSION.dwg

    Also, I wouldn't pay attention to the 'v' marks. I'm quite sure they have to do with machine finishing. Could be wrong though.
    ***Commandobill***
    Abusing AutoCad Since 1999
    "Caddatude... Do you has it?"
    Sorry for my poor English, I'm American...

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    The overall bottom dimension is calculated by using the information given in the lower view. Now I am having a somewhat difficult time discerning the one dimension that looks like it reads 8.75, but to that one would add the center-to-center dimension of 0.25 (twice; one for each end) then add in the radius of 0.75 (twice; one for each end). Total: 10.75 (assuming the 8.75 is correct).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Full Member Behemothrex's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Behemothrex's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 64 bit
    Motherboard:
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. P8Z77-V PRO/THUNDERBOLT
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770K @ 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    Corsair Vengeance 32.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz
    Graphics:
    Dual SLI Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670's
    Primary Storage:
    OP system and Autocad only - Crucial 128GB SATA III SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital Black 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Monitor:
    LG W2353V 23"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    55

    Wink

    Thanks guys, now I see it. Technically I am not required to draw the bottom, as they just want the front, top and left sides, but yah drawing that bit would have made sense.

    I have just never had a drawing where you could not simply discern the dimensions even if you had to add them up, buy looking at the page.

    Seems like having to draw it out to get the dimensions kind of defeats the point of putting on dimensions in the first place. LOL

    Its always nice to see new approaches to a problem.

    Thanks again guys.

  5. #5
    Super Member Commandobill's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    538

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The overall bottom dimension is calculated by using the information given in the lower view. Now I am having a somewhat difficult time discerning the one dimension that looks like it reads 8.75, but to that one would add the center-to-center dimension of 0.25 (twice; one for each end) then add in the radius of 0.75 (twice; one for each end). Total: 10.75 (assuming the 8.75 is correct).
    I figured he was looking for a linear dimension, which wasn't really given unless you did the math given the angle. Adding all those dimensions give you an aligned dimension, but that wouldn't much help if he was trying to draw a different view. IMO. I don't have to draw parts much anymore though.
    ***Commandobill***
    Abusing AutoCad Since 1999
    "Caddatude... Do you has it?"
    Sorry for my poor English, I'm American...

  6. #6
    Super Member Commandobill's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    538

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Behemothrex View Post
    Thanks guys, now I see it. Technically I am not required to draw the bottom, as they just want the front, top and left sides, but yah drawing that bit would have made sense.

    I have just never had a drawing where you could not simply discern the dimensions even if you had to add them up, buy looking at the page.

    Seems like having to draw it out to get the dimensions kind of defeats the point of putting on dimensions in the first place. LOL

    Its always nice to see new approaches to a problem.

    Thanks again guys.
    You didn't have to draw the whole thing, but it helps if you can't find a dimension. Good luck on the rest of the drawing!
    ***Commandobill***
    Abusing AutoCad Since 1999
    "Caddatude... Do you has it?"
    Sorry for my poor English, I'm American...

  7. #7
    Full Member Behemothrex's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Behemothrex's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 64 bit
    Motherboard:
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. P8Z77-V PRO/THUNDERBOLT
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3770K @ 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    Corsair Vengeance 32.0 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 668MHz
    Graphics:
    Dual SLI Gigabyte GeForce GTX 670's
    Primary Storage:
    OP system and Autocad only - Crucial 128GB SATA III SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital Black 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Monitor:
    LG W2353V 23"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I just drew the bottom like in your example just so I could get the linear dimension for the front view. I am not going to spend a lot of time on this as I have never dealt with this much hidden line work, rounds, or ribs, etc before and I think the instructor is on crack. Plus he doesn't tell you how many other drawings you have to do, so I can't spend days on this I have to move on.

    Thanks again!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Sep 2014, 04:53 pm
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2013, 05:20 pm
  3. AutoCAD Layout Background Color to Solid Black or Other Color
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2010, 09:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts