+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Writz's Avatar
    Using
    Mechanical 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy can't target a line alone during making a surface loft

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i'm watching a video on youtube of a how to draw a helicopter blade, i understand what is going on in the video, but there is one point i can't follow. right when he starts doing the surface loft.

    I did exactly everything he did until that point, where i can't target the open loop(the line), instead it targets the sketch(3 lines connected to each other).

    I attached my last progress file blade5.SLDPRT .. i'm using solidworks 2015 sp2.1

  2. #2
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,071

    Default

    He selects the two endpoints as "profiles" (blue)
    The lines (e.g. length of the blades) are both selected using the "Guide Curve" (Purple) selection tool.

    I think? Thats how I interpret your query
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  3. #3
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you need a single line from a sketch you need to right click and use "selection manager". I didn't watch the video but im guessing that is the issue.
    Matt - Certified Solidworks Expert -Advanced Surfacing, Mold Tool and Sheet Metal Specialist
    Current Software: SolidWorks17,Mastercam2017, fusion360, Inventor 2017, HSMworksUltimate
    http://www.solidbox.tv Free and Paid Tutorials for Solidworks, Mastercam and Fusion360
    http://www.mysolidbox.com/ CAD and CAM optimized workstations and laptops

Similar Threads

  1. loft of circle results in surface :(
    By imtrying in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2013, 07:27 pm
  2. Subtracting a surface (loft) from a solid?
    By flashbo in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Apr 2012, 04:21 pm
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Dec 2011, 02:22 pm
  4. LOFT - Can't create 3D solid b/c of Splined surface
    By dulerong in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2011, 03:01 am
  5. Convert Surface (Loft) to Soild
    By Fire Alarm in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2010, 06:03 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts