How to generate an array of randomly spaced dots?

Solarmew

I would like to draw a circular area filled with randomly distributed smaller circles of a predetermined size.

These circles can't overlap and must be within some specified range of distances from each other, for example no closer than 1mm, no further than 3mm.

I'm completely new at this, so any and all help and hints are appreciated.

Welcome to CADTutor. :)

That is an interesting question, one to which I fail to come up with a quick answer, sorry I can't help you.

I do look forward to reading how other forum members suggest handling this.

Be patient, somebody will come up with something clever, I am sure.

Random radius & random angle. I know I have used it, will try to find. Re on top could do as version 2 of code a check for touching objects and erase and continue.

something like this just need the random angle to work better

;; Rand  -  Lee Mac
;; PRNG implementing a linear congruential generator with
;; parameters derived from the book 'Numerical Recipes'

(defun LM:rand ( / a c m )
   (setq m   4294967296.0
         a   1664525.0
         c   1013904223.0
         $xn (rem (+ c (* a (cond ($xn) ((getvar 'date))))) m)
   )
   (/ $xn m)
)

(defun c:mulcircs ( / pt radirc pt2 rad ang rad2)
(setq pt (list 0.0 0.0)) ; repelace this with pick circle
(setq radcirc 1000.0) ; replace this with a radius factor
(setq rad2 10) ; sets radius of new circs
(setq ang 0.0)
(repeat 100
(setq rand (LM:rand))
(setq rad (* rand radcirc))
(setq ang (+ ang (/ (* 2.0 pi) 100.0))) ; change this also to repeat num
(setq pt2 (polar pt ang rad))
(command "circle" pt2 rad2)
) ; repeat
) ; defun

Edited by BIGAL