+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default making a solid uneven vessel hull....has made me very confused

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Guys,

    I am new to the forum but have been using the tutorials on and off for the last few months, they have been great and to be honest have covered everything I needed....until now

    My problem (and I am really hoping someone can help me) is that I am trying to create a vessel hull, the end use software requires the hull be a solid not just a surface. I have several to spec GA drawings for the vessel and what I have done is put them into CAD and have layered the plan views at the correct heights, see below...

    ahv.jpg

    I have extruded the lower level (blue) from the 0 point Z axis up to the yellow level (ballast level) and hidden the levels above the yellow layer just to make it a little clearer, basically I want to create a hull like shape between the yellow outline and the blue in solid form, but am drawing a complete blank on how to do it... Below should be an image of the hull with one surface created to show the angle (all the way around) i am trying to achieve with a solid....

    ahv2.jpg

    I need to do it all the way around the yellow layer to join to the blue layer in solid form, I am not worried by having the hull arched (although it would be nice) I just hope there is a way of doing it as the only way I can think of is to keep making and extruding surface for each small part of the hull, this would take months of me fiddling with the ucs to create individual surface layers

    Any help on this would be great

    Sam

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Have you tried lofting a series of profiles?

    There are CAD programs specifically designed for this type of work. Why aren't you using one of them?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Why aren't you using one of them?
    Lack of knowledge

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Well try the lofted profiles idea and see what results you get.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Well try the lofted profiles idea and see what results you get.
    I would try loft also but you will need to seperate it into parts for the shop to produce it so loft it in seperate parts my opinion if you intend to use it later on for shop purposes
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  6. #6
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ROBP View Post
    I would try loft also but you will need to seperate it into parts for the shop to produce it so loft it in seperate parts my opinion if you intend to use it later on for shop purposes
    Shape is called Amphora only things missing are the two handles
    pottery maker ?
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hi guys, thanks for the quick replys, I am going "lofting" now. I will come back with the results. Hopefully something that looks like a boat rather than a pottery piece

  8. #8
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liquid-blue22 View Post
    Hi guys, thanks for the quick replys, I am going "lofting" now. I will come back with the results. Hopefully something that looks like a boat rather than a pottery piece
    Sorry my error i did misread the posting and forgot all about the hull
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    thats okay given the way its going it may end up looking more like a piece of pottery ;-)

    The loft function is great, i have been having some fun playing around with it, but I am having a problem making it to a solid, I will carry on playing with it before I ask any questions, as its probably just me doing something stupid

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You may have to resort to using the THICKEN command.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Cutting a hole in a solid, and making a circle a solid.
    By mike Keith in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2016, 02:05 pm
  2. how to made a 3d solid soccer ball
    By buburayak in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2010, 03:51 pm
  3. Confused on making a simple circle
    By SFG13 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2010, 12:02 am
  4. Can this object be made of solid?
    By didko in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2008, 01:56 am
  5. ...create a complex 3d solid (sailboat hull)
    By ledo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2005, 04:38 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts