+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Using Field

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default Using Field

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I am trying to figure out a way to get all of my common data (detail numbers, sheet numbers, and when I bubble an item from my BOM) to update easier. The best way I found to do this seems to be using Field. Field works with regular text really well, but I cant figure out how to get the correct data from Mtext or from a table. Meaning, Field pulls all data from Mtext, and only table data from tables (i.e, nothing inserted inside the table, just table height and whatnot).

    I would like to use a table so that I can copy paste my BOM from excel, and Field reference to the data in that table.

    If you have an easier solution I would appreciate that too.. Using full Autocad 2017, Mechanical.

    Also, I tried using Custom Drawing Properties but that maxes out at 10, and I cannot populate it easily from the excel file.
    I know I can use sheetset for the sheet numbers, but see no way to use it for the BOM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I populate Excel information into an AutoCAD Table using a Data Link.

    If you could post an example of what you are using a Field to do it might be easier to solve. (Post a drawing with clear instructions.)
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. field
    By issammesk in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2016, 02:10 pm
  2. AutoLISP - move value from object data field to elevation field
    By cfculligan in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2014, 08:12 am
  3. Updating field-to-field-to-field
    By Marco1979 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th Apr 2014, 09:49 am
  4. Field Edit or Field Input Automation
    By KAPC in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11th Jun 2013, 01:04 pm
  5. ATTEXT:invalid field specification, invalid field specification, etc etc
    By Edward Teller in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2012, 05:18 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts