+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Full Member jaff's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jaff's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 5040
    Motherboard:
    Version 10.0.10586 Build 10586
    CPU:
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6500 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Adapter Type AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6610), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Primary Storage:
    Size 453.24 GB NTFS (486,661,943,296 bytes)
    Monitor:
    Dell E2213H
    Discipline
    Structural
    jaff's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Residencial Design, Low Rise Building Design
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area
    Posts
    44

    Default Problems with numbering and bullets not continuing its sequence automatically

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Does any one have any idea why MTEXT does not continue its numbering and bullet system. For example in the attached file under "GENERAL NOES" section when I delete item "7" item "8" does not change automatically to "7" and "9" to "8" and so on. Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    I will also appreciate if anyone knows a good tutorial on advanced bullet and numbering in MTEXT such as (see attach screen shot)


    thank you.
    Attached Images
    Attached Files
    Last edited by jaff; 5th Jan 2017 at 07:33 pm.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,857

    Default

    Not sure if MTEXT was created with "advanced bullets" in mind. Couldn't you create the text in another program (ex. - Word) then import it into MTEXT?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member jaff's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jaff's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 5040
    Motherboard:
    Version 10.0.10586 Build 10586
    CPU:
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6500 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Adapter Type AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6610), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Primary Storage:
    Size 453.24 GB NTFS (486,661,943,296 bytes)
    Monitor:
    Dell E2213H
    Discipline
    Structural
    jaff's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Residencial Design, Low Rise Building Design
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Advanced bullet? Let's harken back to English 101. It's called an alphanumeric outline which consists of
    If you are going to criticize people's post make sure is more productive than just your 101 lessons. There are people like me that come from other countries and find this type of lesson useless. If you are so smart you should also continue your lessons and perhaps answer the question.

  4. #4
    Full Member jaff's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jaff's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 5040
    Motherboard:
    Version 10.0.10586 Build 10586
    CPU:
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6500 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Adapter Type AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6610), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Primary Storage:
    Size 453.24 GB NTFS (486,661,943,296 bytes)
    Monitor:
    Dell E2213H
    Discipline
    Structural
    jaff's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Residencial Design, Low Rise Building Design
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    It wasn't a criticism and I don't care what your country of origin is.
    get a life you bigot

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,857

    Default

    Loved your private email! I'd post it here but that kind of language is not allowed in the forums. BTW...I wouldn't be intolerant of you just because you're from California. I have a brother, an uncle and a good friend who live there and I don't hold it against them.

    You can tell AutoCAD to switch to letters via the Contextual MTEXT Ribbon at the top of your screen. Use the drop down for Bullets and Numbering then highlight Lettering. A fly-out menu gives the user a choice between Lowercase or Uppercase letters. Not sure how you force it to indent though.

    Just stumbled across this. Maybe you've already read it?

    http://www.dummies.com/programming/a...-autocad-2014/
    Last edited by ReMark; 5th Jan 2017 at 08:26 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jaff View Post
    Does any one have any idea why MTEXT does not continue its numbering and bullet system.
    It does, if you set it up to continue.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Full Member jaff's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jaff's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 5040
    Motherboard:
    Version 10.0.10586 Build 10586
    CPU:
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6500 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Adapter Type AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6610), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Primary Storage:
    Size 453.24 GB NTFS (486,661,943,296 bytes)
    Monitor:
    Dell E2213H
    Discipline
    Structural
    jaff's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Residencial Design, Low Rise Building Design
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    It does, if you set it up to continue.
    The only way it continues is by manually using the drop down arrow under Bullets and Numbering and selecting continue. It is possible to set this automatically?

    Thanks RobDraw.
    Attached Images

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,091

    Default

    I'm afraid this probably a case of OIE, most of that MText is set to continue. For some reason that section was formatted differently.

    It is simple formatting thing. "Advanced bulleting" is relatively new to AutoCAD and AFAIK still a bit clunky but I'm not well versed in document formatting. I think it can do far more than I know how to do. I can tell you this, though. If you turn on the MText editor toolbar, you will find bulleting and other formatting tools that should be at least somewhat familiar to you from other programs. Also, right click contextual menus can be quite handy with this type of thing.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Full Member jaff's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jaff's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 5040
    Motherboard:
    Version 10.0.10586 Build 10586
    CPU:
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6500 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM:
    Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
    Graphics:
    Adapter Type AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6610), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
    Primary Storage:
    Size 453.24 GB NTFS (486,661,943,296 bytes)
    Monitor:
    Dell E2213H
    Discipline
    Structural
    jaff's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Residencial Design, Low Rise Building Design
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Thanks RobDraw for your input. I guess this is something that I have to deal with. It is unfortunate because it happens in a lot of other sections and is cumbersome to fix and at times it goes with out notice that the numbers are out of sequence when making adjustments to the the notes.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,091

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yeah, if it is not formatted correctly there, it is probably that way elsewhere. I only checked a couple other areas but they were set correctly.

    I hate to ask such an obvious question, but have you tried selecting all and setting it to continue? I would expect to have to fix a couple of things from more OIEs, but it should help get you straightened out.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Bullets & numbering greyed out AutoCAD 2011
    By billynomates in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2016, 09:11 am
  2. Automatically Update a sequence of Numbers
    By Andy Sap in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2009, 04:16 pm
  3. Bullets and Lists
    By mr_mojo_risin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2009, 09:33 am
  4. continuing The Fillet command ?
    By GhostRider in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2007, 10:53 pm
  5. What am I doing wrong?! DDE w/ Continuing Dims
    By RedDirt in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Oct 2006, 02:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts