Sequential Layer naming + Lisp noob questions (example included)

Esteban_CAD

Hi All

Firstly, many thanks to everyone who contributes to this site, it is an immensely helpful source of info.

I have been using AutoCAD for many years and have recently started to play around with AutoLISP to try and streamline some repetitive commands, I can generally construct simple routines but have bitten off more than I can chew with this one.

I would like to write a LISP that will create layers within an open drawing based on a proposed buildings max story height while factoring in the possibility of a basement floor and/or split ground floor (upper/Lower). The layer names are floor specific and would be as follows:

x =floor number (-1 = Basement, 0 =Ground, 1 = First etc)

NLP x Walls

NLP x Windows

NLP x Rooms

NLP x Balcs

NLP x Detailing

(one set of layers per floor)

Setq: user inputs

basement (Yes/No)

Splitgrnd (Yes/No)

floorno (numeric value based on total number of floors)

Setq: program

floornoabsolute (based on user inputs to return number of top floor)

n.b. I appreciate that the routine is probably cumbersome and could be streamlined but please ignore this for now as I am using it as a teaching aid and will learn how to do this in due course, for now I would just like to know a few things that I am struggling with.

My LISP so far:

(defun c:NLPADDLAYERSTEST ( / floorno basement splitgrnd floornoabsolute)

(initget 1 "Yes No")

(setq basement (getkword "\nDoes the Scheme have a basement? (Yes/No): ")

)

(cond

((= basement "Yes") (command "layer" "n" "NLP -1 Walls" "n" "NLP -1 Windows" "n" "NLP -1 Rooms" "n" "NLP -1 Balcs" "n" "NLP -1 Detailing" ""))

)

(initget 1 "Yes No")

(setq splitgrnd (getkword "\nIs the ground floor split into upper and lower? (Yes or No): ")

)

(if (= splitgrnd "Yes")