Date Created

• Start

End

Last Updated

• Start

End

Filter by number of...

Found 4 results

1. Hi Is there a way to create a macro which would find the inertia of a region out the (0,0)? Currently, I have to Massprop the object, draw a line from (0,0) to the centre of the object, move the object from the end of the line to the centroid, and then massprop it again to get the correct Ixx and Iyy values. I have looked into creating a macro for it, but I don't know how to use the initial centre values to move the object to (0,0). Is there a way to do this via amacro? If not, is there any other method unknown to me to find the Iyy and Ixx values of an object as if it is sitting at (0,0)? Thanks in advance, hope this all makes sense.
  2. I work as a boat designer and often require calculating total length of polyline & centre of gravity (both open & closed polylines). I have a snippet below to show the sample code I am currently using - this only works with a group of lines - it doesnt work with polylines. Currently everytime I have to calculate the CG, I have to copy the polyline over, explode it & select the lines to calculate the CG. The logic is as follows - assuming we have 3 segments on the polyline(A,B,C) : Centre of Gravity of Polyline = (Len of A multiplied by Centroid of A + Len of b multiplied by Centroid of B + Len of C multiplied by Centroid of C) divided by Total Length of polyline I am new to LISP & although have some background in other programming languages, find it is relatively difficult to write the code, the syntax being very different. I found a similar code ( TotalADD Total Addition by Andrea Andreetti & modified to come to the below code). It would be ideal if I can select a group of polylines (using select similar) and run the command to get a text table in autocad with CG & total length calculated for set of polylines on different layers. But I am not sure how this can be achieved. Would you be able to help or am I asking for too much ? any