3d Curved stair

qball

I made this curved stair model. I'm fairly new to the 3d, but I thought I'd toss this in here in case it helps someone.

Step 1: plan view

Step 2: copied the plan view multiple times x riser height. 3DPOLYLINE the treads and risers each side (red and blue). Then connected each side with LOFT

Step 3: slicing planes by extruding lines from plan view.

Step 4: sliced a box with surface planes.

Step 5: sliced the new box with the lofted stairs. I originally had a problem slicing. Remember to make the slicing plane slice completely through the solid.

Step 6: end product.

step 1.GIF

step 2.jpg

step 3.jpg

step 4.GIF

step 5.jpg

step 6.GIF

I made this curved stair model. I'm fairly new to the 3d, but I thought I'd toss this in here in case it helps someone.

Step 1: plan view

Step 2: copied the plan view multiple times x riser height. 3DPOLYLINE the treads and risers each side (red and blue). Then connected each side with LOFT

Step 3: slicing planes by extruding lines from plan view.

Step 4: sliced a box with surface planes.

Step 5: sliced the new box with the lofted stairs. I originally had a problem slicing. Remember to make the slicing plane slice completely through the solid.

Step 6: end product.

hey thanks i never knew it before... thanks...:D cheersss

nice stuff, never thought of that.. and something from me..it s basic stuff but combined and with some extra touch..

dailyautocad.com/3d/3d-roof-drawing-exercise/

• 2 years later...

Thanks qball. I got the curved staircase but how do I slice off the bottom portion of the stairs with like 6" thickness? Right now it is looking as though the entire staircase is starting from the floor level.

Another way to do this is create a plan view and use PRESSPULL on each of the steps to raise them to the height you need it.

(Just realized that this thread is a couple years old. THREAD NECROMANCY!!!)