Copy a file to folder

Downtown

Hi all,

Have done a search on the forums first but havent found anything relating to my question.

I have a lisp routine in which part of the program simply selects a file from a folder in my computer (using getfiled) and reads in the data points.

I was wondering if there was a way of selecting this file and copying it into another folder? (is there something like a copyfiled?)

So basically what i want to do is pick the original file, copy it into a different folder where another program (outside of Autocad) is automatically run which coverts the file into a different filetype, then lisp will read in that particular file and continue with the lisp routine.

Im pretty new to Autolisp. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for any help.

(vl-file-copy SOURCE DESTINATION)

example: (vl-file-copy (findfile "acad.cui") "c:\\acad.cui")

Hi all,

Have done a search on the forums first but havent found anything relating to my question.

I have a lisp routine in which part of the program simply selects a file from a folder in my computer (using getfiled) and reads in the data points.

I was wondering if there was a way of selecting this file and copying it into another folder? (is there something like a copyfiled?)

So basically what i want to do is pick the original file, copy it into a different folder where another program (outside of Autocad) is automatically run which coverts the file into a different filetype, then lisp will read in that particular file and continue with the lisp routine.

Im pretty new to Autolisp. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for any help.

Thanks alanjt, that works.

Is there a way of automatically saving my copied file with the same filename as the original?

What ive got is:

(SETQ sourcefile (getfiled "Select a source file" "n:/data/" "txt" )

(vl-file-copy sourcefile "n:/txt-convert/copiedfile.txt" )