Does anyone know how to purge on 2011??

jamescdow

i've being trying to purge the layers on one of my drawing but everything i do it asks me to type in the layers that need purging rather than telling me what the empty layers are. can anyone help

cheers

Congrats on your first post, and welcome to the forums!

Try using the standard ._purge command instead of the command line version (._-purge), does that work for you?

hi cheers for your response.

i tried using that command instead but it still came up asking me to type in what layers i wanted to purge. i am quite new to autocad2011 as it have only just become available on mac (previously i have been working on vectorworks). i basically want to purge all the classes and layers on a drawing i have uploaded, that have no info on them, without having to go through the laborious process of checking though the classes and layers individually.

thanks for your help.

(defun c:PurgeAll (/ activeDoc)
 (vl-load-com)
 (if (setq activeDoc (vla-get-activedocument (vlax-get-acad-object)))
   (vla-purgeall activeDoc))
 (princ))

... Happy coding! :)

do i type this in to the command box. apologies for my ignorance on this matter

Many thanks

First, try setting the filedia system variable to 1, then use your normal command again... if that doesn't work, then we'll go there.

The layer manager will tell you which layers are empty by way of a gray box to the left of the name, sort by the status column, select all the empty layers, right click, delete.

The layer manager will tell you which layers are empty by way of a gray box to the left of the name, sort by the status column, select all the empty layers, right click, delete.

This guy just makes it look so easy.:) Wish I were that smart.:oops:

Another great tip.:D

I do jump to writing code, far too quickly, don't I. :(

I do jump to writing code, far too quickly, don't I. :(

Attributed to your big, kind heart, your lightening quick brain and nimble fingers.

:lol:

LOL