cmangi86

Import Excel to DWGPROPS

cmangi86

I work as an engineer for a solar company. We preform all of our calculations on an excel file, then transfer these values to Autocad to show our calculations for the plan checkers. I use the DWGPROPS command in Autocad to auto populate all the pages in my plans. I tend to do a lot of copy and pasting and to do all this.

Is there a way to isolate the excel values I need and import them into my Autocad DWGPROPS?

ReMark

You can bring in an entire worksheet or a range of cells via the Table > Datalink command.

cmangi86

Thanks for the reply, but it isn't quite what I am looking for. I need the table to insert directly into the DWGPROPS command, not just in a separate table. Do you know if that is possible?

ReMark

I have no idea. Inserting the table in the drawing makes more sense to me. But it is your drawing so place your data anywhere you want.

BlackBox

The short answer is... No.

A more complete answer... Is that despite the inability to paste an Excel cell range directly into specific components of DWGPROPS, one can write a relatively simple LISP routine, which can programmatically query the applicable cell values, and populate the Document Object's (read Drawing's) SummaryInfo Object's Properties accordingly. :beer:

HTH

cmangi86

Hmm that is interesting... I have never written a LISP routine before. So I guess that will be my next question. What is and how do I write one?

BlackBox

Hmm that is interesting... I have never written a LISP routine before. So I guess that will be my next question. What is and how do I write one?

That is a loaded question... You'll have to forgive the simplicity implied by my previous post, as I do quite a bit of programming these days.