Autocad files and Sketchup

Rudbeckia

I am new to sketchup and I have just imported a cad file into my 3d drawing. Do I have to trace over the entire cad drawing, or is there a way to do it faster. (This is kind of a Sketchup question, so I may me on the wrong forum)

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• f700es

• bbankston

• CADken

• Rudbeckia

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I am new to sketchup and I have just imported a cad file into my 3d drawing. Do I have to trace over the entire cad drawing, or is there a way to do it faster. (This is kind of a Sketchup question, so I may me on the wrong forum)

No problem, I moved the thread to the SketchUp forum.

If you are talking about say a floor plan and now you are going to draw the rest in 3D with SU then yes, this is one way to do it. In my opinion this is a very good way. I usually bring the drawing into SU and then move my floor plan to a single layer and then group the entire drawing. This will make the tracing and push/pulling easier. Give this a try and see how it works for you.

Good luck :)

• 6 months later...
No problem, I moved the thread to the SketchUp forum.

If you are talking about say a floor plan and now you are going to draw the rest in 3D with SU then yes, this is one way to do it. In my opinion this is a very good way. I usually bring the drawing into SU and then move my floor plan to a single layer and then group the entire drawing. This will make the tracing and push/pulling easier. Give this a try and see how it works for you.

Good luck :)

Anther great and fast service Knock down by TPL ^^, I love you

it seems someone is gather a fan club of sorts?

• 4 weeks later...