+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member vanowm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    vanowm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1 x86/x64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    121

    Question Cut polymesh with another polymesh?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello.

    I have a polimesh (yellow) that I need to cut with another polimesh (green)

    How can I do that?

    Thank you.

    P.S.
    Using AutoCAD 2002
    Attached Images
    Attached Files
    Last edited by vanowm; 15th May 2017 at 08:23 pm. Reason: Updated .dwg
    AutoCAD 2002 / R13

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    I had no luck slicing your polymesh. I also had no luck converting it to a surface. So I redrew the base geometry using 3Dpolylines which I then lofted to created lofted surfaces at which point I was able to slice the yellow colored object in your drawing. This is the result. It's cyan colored because I drew my new geometry on two different layers with distinctly different colors. Only the result of the slice is depicted.

    MeshSlice1.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    All three pre-slice objects....

    MeshSlice2.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Senior Member vanowm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    vanowm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1 x86/x64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Unfortunately LOFT is not available in ACAD 2002
    AutoCAD 2002 / R13

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Did you use EDGESURF to create your meshes originally?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member vanowm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    vanowm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1 x86/x64
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No, I use RULESURF

    I have top and bottom splines between which RULESURF was used to create mesh. Later I "unfold" it to make it flat.

    P.S.
    Updated .dwg sample
    Last edited by vanowm; 15th May 2017 at 08:24 pm.
    AutoCAD 2002 / R13

Similar Threads

  1. covert 3d face to polymesh
    By motee-z in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2011, 01:20 am
  2. 3D Polymesh to 2D
    By nocturne00 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2009, 09:43 am
  3. Subtracting polymesh
    By MantaBase in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2007, 03:45 pm
  4. Polymesh to 3DFace
    By i-wilson@ntlworld.com in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Nov 2006, 05:13 pm
  5. convert 3d solid to polymesh
    By Totes100 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2004, 09:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts