+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member ILoveMadoka's Avatar
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    335

    Default BOM Cheat? Qty Value Override

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As a rule, in our BOM the QTY (quantity) equals how many of a part/assembly are
    included/inserted in an assembly.
    We've recently come across a couple situations where we need to
    override that number for a particular item.

    As an example, we have Screw X and we want the quantity to equal 100.
    Is there a way to get a manually entered QTY to show in the BOM
    for only one specific item when the BOM has many lines?
    For all the other items I want the QTY to equal the total in the assembly.

    It's like I need only 1 line in my BOM to read a Custom Property for this one item.

    If this do-able?
    Is there a different methodology for accomplishing this?

    I really want to avoid inserting 100 instances of this one screw in my top assembly, even if it's a pattern. (If possible)

    I know about manually typing in the cell to override that way...
    Looking for a "different" option..

    Solidworks 2015 (if that matters)

    Please Advise

    Thanks
    Last edited by ILoveMadoka; 9th Feb 2018 at 03:24 pm.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional (CSWP)
    Certified SOLIDWORKS Professional - Advanced Surfacing (CSWPA-SU) / Advanced Weldments (CSWPA-WD)
    Advanced Sheet Metal (CSWPA-SM) / Advanced Mold Tools (CSWPA-MT) / Advanced Drawing Tools (CSWPA-DT)

  2. #2
    Super Member SuperCAD's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SuperCAD's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Professional 64bit
    Computer:
    Some POS given to my by corporate...
    RAM:
    16G :-(
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA 2000
    Primary Storage:
    500G
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    SuperCAD's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Drawings for a steel manufacturing company.
    Using
    Solidworks 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    762

    Default

    You can do a manual override but it will break the link to the quantity in the assembly. If you want to restore the link, right click on the cell and select that option.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional

  3. #3
    Senior Member ILoveMadoka's Avatar
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I once saw a post about creating a field with a "dummy quantity" that could be read in.
    I wish I had saved the post and the link.
    Something about setting another field = to the dummy quantity field and then setting an equation
    so if the dummy was blank use the actual quantity else use the dummy quantity.

    I remember I tried it but couldn't make it work...
    Certified SolidWorks Professional (CSWP)
    Certified SOLIDWORKS Professional - Advanced Surfacing (CSWPA-SU) / Advanced Weldments (CSWPA-WD)
    Advanced Sheet Metal (CSWPA-SM) / Advanced Mold Tools (CSWPA-MT) / Advanced Drawing Tools (CSWPA-DT)

Similar Threads

  1. text override
    By td88 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2016, 01:39 pm
  2. New Override key
    By del1 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Dec 2014, 10:59 pm
  3. Publish using Page Setup override won't override
    By LGB in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2012, 12:50 am
  4. Dim Override text
    By woodman78 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 24th Feb 2010, 05:13 pm
  5. Override dimension
    By mdbdesign in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Mar 2007, 03:14 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts