Poll: Do you dimension in Model Space or Paper Space?

Be advised that this is a public poll: other users can see the choice(s) you selected.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9
Results 81 to 82 of 82
  1. #81
    Senior Member soleary's Avatar
    Computer Details
    soleary's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by EMS_0525 View Post
    Creating different layers and turning off certain one ins certain viewports is really handy, and now you can even change the color of layers in viewports and that wont effect the actual layer color in model space. I have used that a few times and its handy.
    I agree that this is very handy. Seeing that you dimension in model space, you should look a little more into annotation scaling (you mentioned that you haven't done so yet). It isn't actually that difficult and once you see it working properly, it becomes very clear. Again, for previous versions (pervious to '08, I think) you had to create different layers and different DIMSTYLES to ensure your dimensions plot correctly, if you were taking different views of the same object at different scales. Now, with annotation scaling, you don't have to do this anymore. So in your example, if you go a step futher and create a new layout and show your layout (the one with the dimesions for example) at a different scale, you don't have to create a new layer for the new scale and then freeze the orginal dimension layer. Provided the annotation scales are done correctly, you can just apply the new scale to the viewport and your annotative dimensions will show at that scale. It's a good, no great, concept - and it works!!!
    Last edited by soleary; 10th Nov 2008 at 05:31 pm.

  2. #82
    Senior Member EMS_0525's Avatar
    Computer Details
    EMS_0525's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    HP xw8400 Workstation
    RAM:
    4GB
    Primary Storage:
    250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 18" flat screens
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    253

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yea, i need to learn how those annotive dims work.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts