+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: 3d drafting???

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default 3d drafting???

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i'm a drafter working for an engineering company.
    we do a lot of stuff including building envelopes and a lot of structural stuff.
    my company wants to send me to school learn 3d drafting but they have no idea about it and i have no idea about it.

    which program should i learn?
    i've heard programs like vectorworks, solidworks, sketchup (something like that..).
    which is the most popular/useful program? (like autocad is the most popular for 2d drafting).

    i heard autocad can also do 3d but not really as good as other programs.. is this correct?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Revit Structure might be the best thing for structural buildings and shells. That is the new and upcoming 3D software package that most architects and mechanical, electrical, and plumbing/piping contractors are using now. Here's a link:

    http://www.autodesk.com/revitstructure
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    which program has more market share?
    let's say if i'm not working right now and i want to learn a 3d cad just to get a job.
    which will give a better chance of finding a job?

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Revit for sure. The reason is because Revit is a base platform that has 3 different major disciples, (1) Revit Architecture (2) Revit MEP and (3) Revit Structure.

    Revit is the new "big thing" that is being pushed in the construction industry. But once you learn one, you can learn them all (as far as the interface and "how" it works). The only thing you would need to learn if you were to pick up a different version of Revit would be the trade specific knowledge.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    ok and what about 3d drafting in just autocad?
    is it pretty much useless?
    i guess that's the case and the reason why people use programs like revit?
    i've been using autocad for 2 years now and i haven't done any 3d drafting so far so i have no idea.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    AutoCAD is more than capable of doing 3D stuff, but you have to remember these applications are designed for a very specific purpose. Most people would tell you to stay far, FAR away from plain AutoCAD when doing 3D, and for the most part it's true. Stick with a new parametric program such as Revit, and you'll be fine.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,371

    Default

    I'll second Styk's recommendation to get something task specific and look into Revit. That said, plain AutoCAD will definitely do 3D. It just takes more time and effort. Plain AutoCAD does not come with an extensive library of structural elements (tube, pipe, channel, angle, beams, etc.) among other things.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Inventor, hands down. I use it for mechanical engineering. I hated revit with a passion!

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    what's inventor?
    is it more mainstream than revit?
    i will go with more mainstream one.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Why don't you download the trial versions and decide for yourself which one you like better?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Electronic Drafting Help
    By CADken in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2007, 09:54 pm
  2. Cad Drafting
    By jony69 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2007, 06:24 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts