+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default Arc (start-2nd-end point) absolute or relative coordinates

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a problem with absolute and relative coordinate regarding drawing an arc.


    From my previous studies, I thought whenever I input coordinates in command line, in order to use absolute coordinates I just enter them. If I want to use relative coord, then I can prefix them with @ sign.

    For an arc I input as follows: start point: 0,0 2nd point: 500,500 end point: 1000,0. I was expecting to get a half circle from origin to 1000,0 point but to my surprise I find out that CAD gets the input coordinates as relative.


    Am I missing something? 1.dwg1.jpg
    Is this behavior same for all other object drawings?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Dynamic Input turned ON = Black
    Dynamic Input turned OFF = Red
    Why? .... because the default (OOTB) setting for Dynamic input is "Relative Coordinates" so it automatically adds the @ symbol.

    If you want to change the default settings, do it through DSETTINGS or use the # symbol to specify Absolute coordinates.
    DSettings.jpg

  3. #3
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Dear Nestly

    Thanks a lot. Like as always your reply is perfect. I have to admit that I was unaware of this point.
    AutoCad is such a great and detailed program that has commands for every single point.
    This Forum is really a good place to learn and enhance knowledge about AutoCAD.

    Just one minor point. You mentioned:

    Dynamic Input turned ON = Black
    Dynamic Input turned OFF = Red

    I didn't get the point where are you referring to? In your posted image I couldn't find your quotes. But my problem is resolved.
    Last edited by khoshravan; 5th Sep 2011 at 07:12 am. Reason: add note

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    "Red" and "Black" refer to the colors of the arcs in your screenshot.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2010, 04:14 pm
  2. get absolute coordinates of a block reference
    By Dill in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2010, 10:13 am
  3. relative coordinates
    By salman in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2009, 03:44 pm
  4. Absolute and relative CS
    By przemek2727 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st Dec 2008, 05:40 pm
  5. first help needed. relative coordinates.
    By Burnsie in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2007, 09:00 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts