Standard scale of a viewport

dannywi77iams

Hi all

Can you help I what to be able to extract the scale from a viewport.

When you look at the properties of a selected viewport there is a section called "standard scale" (1:50 or 1:100) is there a way of extracting this from a table.

I know you can do a table search for blocks and anything else you wish but I'm having trouble with "standard scale".

What I want to do is check for a viewport (the largest in the paper space) extract the "standard scale" (1:50) put this in to a string then use it for my title block.

Can somebody point me on the right direction. My knowledge of lisp is basic and I do not know any of the "vl" code, any help would be appreciated.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• dannywi77iams

• ReMark

• Lee Mac

• elfert

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks for the reply ReMark,

But has I'm still learning lisp I don't know we're to start when it comes to the Code the starts with "vl". This just seem to confuses me.

If you could point me to any basic lisp code that would help.

Thanks again.

If you have the entity name of a Viewport, you can ascertain the scale by dividing the View Height in ModelSpace units (DXF Group Code 45) by the Height in PaperSpace Units (DXF Group Code 41), (reference here):

(defun c:test ( / e )
   (if
       (and
           (setq e (car (entsel)))
           (eq "VIEWPORT" (cdr (assoc 0 (setq e (entget e)))))
       )
       (/ (cdr (assoc 45 e)) (cdr (assoc 41 e)))
   )
)

If you instead have a Viewport VLA-Object, retrieve the CustomScale property:

(/ 1.0 (vla-get-customscale <VLA Viewport Object>))

However, for your task, I would instead insert a Field into your titleblock attribute, linked to the Custom Scale property of the Viewport.

Arggg!!!! Lee Mac beat me to it!!! :) Oh well... here is my version.

(defun c:getviewportscale ()

;vl-load-com allows you to use vl stuff
 (vl-load-com)

;Get the viewport object