+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dartmoor, Devon, UK
    Posts
    209

    Default SCALE different in x and y direction

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I can't believe that in Acad 2006 there's no way to scale an object in one direction only e.g.
    in x direction scale = 1.15, in y direction scale unchanged i.e 1.0.
    Mstation does it - surely there must be at least a workaround in Acad?

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    If you wblock it, and insert it as a block you can scale along an axis.
    Last edited by Dadgad; 13th Sep 2012 at 05:44 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,993

    Default

    In addition to what Dadgad said, if you are looking to scale 3D solids by this method, then please pay attention the resulted block cannot be exploded, therefore will not be able to use further the entities.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Dadgads suggestion works like a charm, but if you don't need to have whatever you need scaled as it's own DWG, its enough to just use the command BLOCK which only creates a block-definition inside the drawing.

    AutoCAD Mechanical has a command that does this built in and yes, it's annoying that it's not in vanilla autocad.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dartmoor, Devon, UK
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Wow I never knew about WBLOCK, only BLOCK, which I use a lot. Is the only difference that WBLOCK is stored as a separate .dwg, everything else the same?

    But - I can't see how to scale either a BLOCK or a WBLOCK along one axis - I just get offered the same SCALE command without choice of axis.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,993

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fostertom View Post
    I can't see how to scale either a BLOCK or a WBLOCK along one axis
    You can do that either in Properties, if the block is already insterted, or at insertion time.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dartmoor, Devon, UK
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Great, I've never dabbled in this.
    But I want to scale my object on an axis that is 45o to the y axis - e.g. a square gets stretched from bott R to top L, but no distances get stretched from bott L to top R, so the square goes kite-shaped. I have tried rotating the square 45o before WBLOCKing, so that as WBLOCKed the y axis is indeed the one I want to stretch - but the stretch still happens to the original y-axis, so the square just goes rectangular.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dartmoor, Devon, UK
    Posts
    209

    Default

    As you were - it's working now - thanks a lot.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Is there any way we can scale in one direction without using block
    I have to use this file for CNC therefore I cannot use explode command

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,236

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Welcome to the forum.
    I don't see why you cannot use the EXPLODE command,
    Depending of course on your geometry.
    What types of drawing entities are there in the drawing, which you would need to block?
    Can't you use PEDIT or similar commands after exploding the block?
    Can you upload the drawing, or a representative sample of it?

    Hmmm, I just saw Mircea's note in the earlier post.
    Can you post something as a test?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Scale a block in one way direction (x)
    By Bart80 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2010, 02:17 am
  2. Scale in X-direction ONLY
    By feeneyje in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Aug 2010, 07:25 pm
  3. how do you scale graphs in only one direction
    By mark.meyers in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th May 2009, 01:52 pm
  4. scale in one direction while keeping the other the same ?
    By blaryon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2008, 01:11 pm
  5. Scale From one Direction
    By therock005 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th May 2008, 02:59 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts