+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default Points using Lat Long?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was given a document (not a point file) of lat and longs, is there a way to create a points using LAT LONG instead of northing and eastings? I can't seem to find anything on this.

    I created a new .txt file using the lat and long but it only seems to recognize northing easting. Which in turn brings the points in close to 0,0 and not the coordinates it needs to be in.

    Thanks!

    I am currently using Civil3D 2015

  2. #2
    Senior Member Emigrato's Avatar
    Discipline
    See details...
    Emigrato's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Cisco CCNA
    Using
    Map 3D 2006
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    165

    Default

    Seems like a decimal separator issue, sir: would you please copy&paste that text file here..?


  3. #3
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Do you have a coordinate system that's is a Lat/Lon system?
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Are you still trying to solve this? Is it a large file, or smallish?

  5. #5
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,890

    Default

    The answer is probably in my post here. You need to set a point import style that is lat long and has a connected translation file for where you are in the world.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ghlight=Lat%2A
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    In Civil 3D you can create a new point File Format used to import or export pints. You can make one that reads Lat and Lons.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Senior Member Squirltech's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Squirltech's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise, Service Pack 1
    Computer:
    BOXX
    RAM:
    32.0 GB
    Primary Storage:
    230 GB
    Monitor:
    Single DELL 34" Curved
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Squirltech's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Coordinator
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    30 15' N, 97 44' W
    Posts
    272

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As another option, Corpscon is a good tool (and it's free) to convert Lat/Long to Coordinates.
    T. Nelson - Project Coordinator
    http://www.sam.biz/

    "The only thing left to do is EVERYTHING!" - Jesse James
    "Work smarter, not harder" - Unknown

Similar Threads

  1. points density - dense.lsp - overlapping points and speed issue
    By marko_ribar in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 4th Dec 2013, 08:25 pm
  2. LISP for Room Size 2 horizontal points & 2 vertical points
    By nihar in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2013, 02:53 am
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th Oct 2010, 05:35 pm
  4. Lat, Long csv
    By kari_sinkko in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2010, 10:54 am
  5. Lat & Long
    By User in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th May 2010, 05:09 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts