+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default Pasting Surfaces with Boundaries

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have two surfaces. An EG Surf and a Surveyed Surf. I need to splice the surveyed surf into the EG. The EG is much bigger than the Survey and etirely covers the survey surf.

    I want the two surfaces to tie in/splice together smoothly. So I thought I would add a 20' or 50' buffer around the survey surf between it and the EG where the two surfaces could gradually tie together instead of sharp changes to connect them.

    To do this I offset the survey surf border by 50' as a polyline and use that as a hide boundary for the EG surf. Then pasted both into a new blank surface.

    But instead of tying together in the new surface there is just a 50' gap/hole in between them.

    Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Welcome to CADTutor.

    In your empty surface, try first pasting the EG surface, and then paste the Survey surface... The level of splicing 'smoothly' is a result of how different, complex, etc. the two surfaces are.

    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

Similar Threads

  1. Image Boundaries
    By robnad in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2013, 06:21 pm
  2. Help with boundaries
    By maxwku in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Mar 2009, 06:13 pm
  3. Boundaries
    By twobig4u01 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2009, 02:45 pm
  4. Pasting surfaces in Civil 3D
    By Fullalove in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2008, 03:28 am
  5. Boundaries in Viewports
    By michaeloureiro in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2008, 03:53 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts