+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    22

    Default Extrim command very slow

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello everybody!

    If I want to use the "extrim" command, I do select a line first and after this I click on side next to the line.

    After that, AutoCad does, first, zooms in very, very slow to the line I'd selected. Second, he trims all the lines next to the selected line, on the side I've chosen.

    Finally, AutoCad zooms out very, very slow...........

    Sometimes it takes 30 seconds or something for extrim a couple of lines.

    I'm using AutoCad 2015 at this moment. I had also used older versions. Some versions also had this problem but in some versions it went very fast!
    Zoom in, extrim and zoom out were done in 1 second.

    Anybody knows how I can solve this?



    (variables Edgemode=0 and Projmode=1)

    example extrim.dwg
    Last edited by Sandervp; 15th Jul 2015 at 10:47 am. Reason: insert example

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    Attach a copy of the drawing to your next post. Someone will test it on their system to see if they experience the same problem.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Attach a copy of the drawing to your next post. Someone will test it on their system to see if they experience the same problem.
    Example attached

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    I fully expected a copy of the actual drawing not an example. But....................

    No problem here. Probably took about a tenth of a second to complete the task.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I fully expected a copy of the actual drawing not an example. But....................

    No problem here. Probably took about a tenth of a second to complete the task.
    If I use the extrim command in this example drawing (size 33.5kb), it tooks 10 seconds already before AutoCad was finished. The bigger the drawing, the longer it takes.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    Maybe you have an under-performing system.

    Addendum:

    I opened your drawing a second time and arrayed the horizontal lines nine additional times and stretched the one vertical (trimming) line. Then I ran the EXTRIM command. Practically the same result. The command executed in barely the blink of an eye. I then doubled the number of lines (close to 200), ran the command and attained similar results.
    Last edited by ReMark; 15th Jul 2015 at 12:48 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    Maybe you can post your computer specifications?

    Are you working on a network?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Maybe you can post your computer specifications?

    Are you working on a network?
    Computer specifactions:


    Windows 7 SP1
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1220 v3 @ 3.10 GHz
    RAM 16 GB
    System 64-bit

    Yes I am working on a network.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My computer specs are not as good as yours yet I have no problem. Strange.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. EXTRIM Between Two Lines
    By sidhu412 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 23rd Aug 2014, 07:19 pm
  2. Adding " Extrim" command to my Tool Platte
    By samifox in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2013, 04:49 pm
  3. Extrim not working in lisp
    By BIGAL in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2013, 12:53 am
  4. Extrim command
    By chizifreshi in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2012, 02:57 pm
  5. slow command prompt
    By geo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 10:29 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts