Like a cube, only pentagons in 3d

turbeauxpete

Hello all;

I'm fairly new to autocad. I'm trying to construct an object (like a cube) made of pentagons. I originally thought it would be pretty straightforward, but all my attempts have ended in failure. I get lost in the UCS/WCS, if thats really the way to do it. I can get it laid out on a flat surface, but can't seem to get it to wrap together. I've seen a similar object but cannot figure how to make it work. Could anyone point me in the right direction?

TIA

Confused in Houston

Pete:?

GREAT! What shape did you start with, a sphere or a box or does it matter. Why didn't I think of slice?

Hello all;

I hope I'm doing this thread continuation correctly. I am still working on the 5 sided dodecahedron in CAD P&ID 2010 student version (free while in school). I have sort of figured out how to use "ROTATE3D", alinging to the object. Near as I can figure, I align with the shape and a common baseline. I get SOOOOOOO! close with this method, but still end up with the edge alignment being off by fractions of a degree (see attached file). Can anyone look to see what I'm doing wrong?

PS I'm rotating +63 deg. from the baselines.

TIA

Still but less confused in Houston

Pete

DoDec.dwg

Ah ha! Narrowing it down now. THANKS. Give me some time to study "POST 16", I'll probably have more ???

You are really dedicated to be answering on Sunday. Me, I have no life.

Learning in Houston

Pete

I typically stop by at least once per day (because there is typically a dozen or so interesting posts since my last visit). :)

turbeauxpete,

After playing with the geometry a bit, I can tell you that the angle from baseline required to match the edges is close to 63.434949 degrees, but since I haven't done the work, I can't tell you that repeating that pattern will result in a closed polyhedron. Good luck.

:?YAHOOOOO!

Attention SEANT (thanks)