"Forget AutoCAD for serious 3D."

ReMark

That quote is from forum member J.D. Mather. See this post for his explanation before adding your opinion here. Do you agree or disagree and why?

Reference: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?t=37125&page=3

Thanks, in advance, for sharing your point of view. And let's keep it civil folks. It's a discussion not a free-for-all in the House of Commons.

I suppose that is directly tied to the notion of what constitutes serious 3D. I’m pretty certain that stakeholders are serious whether their enterprise designs house additions, “daysailer”s, or the next version SST Concord.

I've got two qualifications to make regarding my opinion.

1) I have no experience with the more current Autodesk offerings including Inventor, Mechanical Desktop, etc (I use r14 but solid modeling all the way).

2) My 3d work consists of relatively simple parts geometry wise - Plates, bars, shafts, etc your typical machine components.

Now as far as my opinon absolutely do not forget AutoCAD for serious 3d work. AutoCAD is fully capable of producing functional solid models.

I will admit that AutoCAD is cumbersome in its usage for 3d work, but with proper training and customization plain AutoCAD can become very efficient.

BTW what is the cost difference between AutoCAD and Inventor?

I have been learning Inventor (slowly) and would agree. You can make some pretty nice 3D stuff in AutoCAD but then when you need to edit it quickly and get 2D drawings out you will see the limitations of AutoCAD. Of course you can't use IV for buildings and many other types of drawings we do in our jobs.