Viewports over viewports?

myself

Hello there, im sorry if this is not the correct place to make this question but its my first time here so im not really aware of where and how to use this site.

My doubt is related to viewports, i know how to creata e a viewport over a viewport by creating two regions and then subtract them to create a hole inside the larger one, althou i would like to know if its possible later to change the position of that all or even create a new one, so i have to goo all that way back by creating all the regions and subtract them? this seems to me really crazy.

i would be pleased if you will help with this question once im in the middle of a project where im gonna need it really much, thank you.

well, thank you very much for your help, im gonna try it that way, although in a firts impression it didnt look to me so easy to do it, at least i tried to bring the small viewport to front but it only show up the boundaries of the viewport and not the the window to the model space.

I really though that i had seen something like just draw a circle or any other object inside a viewport and then creat a viewport that i could move and stretch without any problems, i must have dreamed with that :D

My bad.

I have just opened CAD and tried it out, and doesnt work. I could have sworn I did this before.

There are a few different ways to do it though, wipeout in modelspace, and then control in the layers. VPCLIP, although I am not sure if this can be inverted so you would have to cheat and create a polyline first going around the outside of the main vp, and then cutting in to hide the part you want to hide....maybe this doesn't make sense. Ask if you want some more help.

OK, 1 last try. Rather than worrying about VPCLIP and all that rubbish. Create a new viewport, then create a new polygonal viewport and trace around the other rectangular viewport. Hope this is ok.

Cheers

• 6 months later...