amature CADer needs help!!

MSU_ARP11

Hey im an engineering student about to start my major classes and Im looking at buying a computer on "black friday". I need it to run AutoCAD 2010 and other various student type of tasks like word, good internet browser, picture/video storage, small computer games, etc. and I was wondering what I needed. Id like something around $500-$800.

do i need a LAPTOP or DESKTOP? Does it even matter?

what is ddr2? ddr3? etc.

what is this 64 bits thing?

what the crap is a video card and what kind do I need?

what is a core processer and why do i need 2 or 4 of them?

PLEASE dumb everythign down for me. sorry if i sound like an idiot i just honestly dont know much about computers. Ive been reading some of these forum posts and have absolutely no clue what is being said. THANKS A MILLION!

Hey and welcome to the frum MSU.

First, please don't post more than one thread asking the same question, most of us thrawl through all the sub-forums anyway.

Second, I can't explain what all those components are either, I know that I have them in my computer, and they're probably important but what they do, beats me.

But the easiest way to get a list that at least AutoCAD will work on is to go to the autodesk homepage, look at the specifications (recommended, not required) and start with that.

Another alternative is to go to a store that you trust, and ask them for help. usually what I do.

yea ive done that already. the problem is I sometimes dont trust bestbuy because all they want is to empty your wallet and sell you stuff you dont need. walmart is a silly choice. hhgreg, dont know much about. Ive checked the specs but still have absolutely no clue what everything means.

video cards are my main question tho. anyone have any clue about video cards?