3 D Objects

ohmhead

Hello let me introduce myself iam new and old meaning age wise .

I have auto cad 2000i when in a 3 d drawning i can not change the center Z i have never used auto cad before i need some help ?

Did the 2000i have this feature ?

To change a single objects properties i can not pick z or change it i click left on object then click right screen comes up for prop but no input can be changed just color layer linetype ect ect but no XY OR Z .

Iam working on a simple box solid feature on a simple line in a room 3d and trying to raise it in elevation by input to Z this is basic but like i said iam old and new to this .

And never have used a computer before this is my first lesson .

Please understand iam green at this and trying to understand 2000i old cad?:(

AutoCAD is not the easiest program to work with when it comes to 3d and solid modeling. That's not to say it can't be done. I do all my design work in r14 solid modeling and actually like it. I don't have a properties dialog on r14 so I'm shooting from the hip here.

Now on to your problem. As you said, the solid object does not show you a X,Y, or Z value in your properties box. Even though it is a simple box it is actaully a complex object. If you were to union or subtract another cube what X,Y, or Z value should the properties display. Do you get my drift here?

If you want to find out about the object you will need to use the LIST command to discover the "bounding box" in other words the extreme measurements of the object in space.