How to draw a scroll handrail

Arnie

What version of Inventor are you using (files aren't backwards compatible). Looks like a Sweep and Revolve would get you there. Might need a Loft between the Sweep and Revolve depending on cross section. Can you attach what you have completed so far?

Hi JD.

I manage to have access to Inventor 2008 . I only tried with Autocad . Was told would be easier with Inventor , so I am completely new to it . Still going through the tutorials...

In order to use sweep I would need to draw the path and I am not quite sure how to do a 3D curve on inventor . Would appreciate any help given . Thanks

... I am not quite sure how to do a 3D curve on inventor . Would appreciate any help given . Thanks

Doesn't look like a 3D curve to me from the picture?

The process would be essentially the same in AutoCAD or Inventor. Inventor gives some advantage in control and editing, especially if you don't get desired results first time around. AutoCAD you would have to do more of a trial-and-error iterations nearly starting over each time.

Unfortunately I am running 2010 and the files are not backwards compatible.

Scroll.PNG

Hey JD

Would you mind telling me how you made it with sweep as the command doesn´t allow the section to be swept to overlap ?

The straight part of the handrail is supposed to be at 40 degrees in relation to the curly bit , that's where the 3D curve is necessary.

Thanks

If you look carefully at the picture, you will notice the shadow below the straight part .

Thanks again

A top, front, side view might have helped me see the geometry better. I couldn't tell that it was curving up away from the table in the shot you posted.

In any case, this would be a challenging part for a beginner. I takes a bit of knowledge of surface modeling, 3D Sketch intersections and Loft with Rails.