Contract Work Blues???

AllieEatsSushi

Hey y'all,.

I know this is off topic, but I am in desperate need of some advice, and I'll take any I can get.

Currently, I like my job okay.. I have awesome insurance with great benefits, but since I was hired on as entry level.. They kinda screwed me on my hourly rate (I'm a direct hire) $3 less than most entry level CAD drafters make. PLus, we are transferring our drawings from Visio to CAD (Correction, I am transferring our drawings from Visio toCAD) so I'm not really doing anything major, but I am supposed to train my co-workers on CAD, which I'm no expert at yet myself, and they have used Visio for so long that they are set in their ways, and don't really want to learn CAD. And, they have me making the company templates, blocks, and core drawings for the whole company (which is a gi-normous task considering I'm only entry level, and have been using CAD for only about 6 months now myself.)

So I have been looking for something else.

I went to an interview yesterday, and was notified today that they want to hire me... The only problem is.. I would be hired on as a contractor. I have an idea what that entales, but I'm not really sure what the perks are.. And they didn't talk to me at all about what I would be making, but everyone I interviewed with is really nice, and I would actually have people in my office who know how to use CAD (a mentor so 2 speak), and can help me and answer my questions, and I won't have the burden of converting an entire company from using Visio to CAD.