AGP graphic cards

mek1951

I am keeping a Dell Dimension 8300 with a 2.6Gh P4 processor ticking along until I can afford to replace it. I have upgraded the RAM to 4G and the Hard Drive to WD Caviar 500G @ 7200. I am new to AutoCad, but Photoshop was very grateful for the new energy. Problem: my random replacement Graphic Card, Radeon 9200SE, is clearly inadequate to the task, and I have only the AGP slot to work with. I would invest in a proper workstation card, but AGP is clearly the wave of the past, and it would be a throwaway when I replace this aging workhorse. I cannot filter the Cad hardware list for AGP, can you? Thank you. My apology if my question is redundant MEK1951

You can probably find a used nVidia Quadro4 980 XGL graphics card that would work. It comes with 128MB DDR SDRAM onbaord. I've seen them sell for as little at $95.

Some of the Quadro graphic cards are very costly.

Check out ReMark's advice, try Amazon or eBay too.

Curious, what OS are you using? And, of course, welcome to the forums!

Since the OP is looking for an AGP card I'm figuring a used one will be cheap although I'm sure you could probably find a new one (still in the box) on eBay or craiglist that someone bought and never installed.

Craiglist would be nice, local, drive over and pickup the graphics card.

I was curious 'bout the 4G memory, profile OS is XP.

Does XP recognize over 3G of memory?

I have one of the nVidia video/graphics cards installed in the same Dell desktop.

512mb of onboard memory, works fine and purchased in the box, new, second hand never used. A good deal.

XP will not recognize over 3GB unless it is setup to do so. This involves editting the boot.ini file for what is commonly referred to as the 3GB Switch. Even so, the system will report less than the full of amount.

That's not true.